About the institute


The Joint Stock Company State Research Center of the Russian Federation Troitsk Institute for Innovation and Thermonuclear Research (JSC SRC RF TRINITI) is an institute of the State Atomic Energy Corporation Rosatom. Our main activities include scientific research and development in such fields as plasma physics, controlled thermonuclear fusion, laser physics and technology, physics of extreme states of matter, physics of energy conversion processes; R&D under the State Defense Order, development of physical models and codes to predict the behavior of fuel and elements of the active zones of nuclear reactors.

Our Institute began its story in 1956 with founding of the Magnetic Laboratory of the USSR Academy of Sciences on the initiative of Academician A.P. Alexandrov. In 1961 the laboratory was incorporated into the Institute of Atomic Energy named after I.V. Kurchatov as a sector, then a department, and since 1971 – as a branch, director of which until 1978 was academician Eugene Velikhov.

In 1991, the Branch of the Institute of Atomic Energy named after I.V. Kurchatov was renamed into the Troitsk Institute for Innovative and Fusion Research. (TRINITI).

During various years, our institute was headed:

  • from 1978 to 2003: by Corresponding Member of the Russian Academy of Sciences Vyacheslav Pismenny;
  • from 2004 to 2017: by Doctor of Physics and Mathematics, Professor Vladimir Cherkovets.

Since 2018, our institute Doctor of Technical Sciences Dmitry Markov has headed our institute.

In 1994, our institute received the status of the State Research Center and retains it to this day.

The results of the research carried out by JSC "SRC RF TRINITI" have a high degree of novelty, are extremely relevant and have a wide scope of application. First, they are of fundamental importance for the physics of plasma, solids and semiconductors, the study of the properties of substances exposed to high energy densities, the physics of laser systems and gas discharge, the study of energy conversion processes, etc.

Secondly, our technologies find their application in the development of thermonuclear reactors, instruments and devices for diagnostics of high-temperature plasma and solids, X-ray sources, various types of lasers, plasma accelerators, new technological processes using plasma flows and laser radiation, materials with improved properties, autonomous power supplies, exploration and creation of monitoring systems for minerals, etc.

Research in the field of controlled thermonuclear fusion (CTF) takes a leading place in the scientific field, opening the way to the implementation of the synthesis of light elements (deuterium, tritium) in a mode with a controlled release of power, carried out on unique experimental facilities, which include the Angara-5-1 unit. "(the largest unit in Europe and Asia for solving scientific and applied problems under the programs of using the technique of generating ultrahigh electrical power pulses), the TSP thermonuclear complex (Tokamak with a strong field).

During experiments under the CTF program, a fast neutron spectrometer based on a diamond detector was developed and created, with the help of which, for the first time in the world, measurements of the energy distribution spectrum and anisotropy of the neutron radiation spectra of the high-temperature deuterium-tritium plasma of the tokamak were carried out, as well as radiation-resistant devices for measuring fluxes and ionizing radiation doses were developed.

Studies of dynamics of pulsed high-temperature plasma, carried out under the CTF program, also made it possible to develop new methods of hardening materials (reducing the microroughness of the surface layer, reducing the friction coefficient, increasing of corrosion resistance etc.) and creating a number of appropriate devices for this purpose. The benefits of plasma processing have been demonstrated on many industrial products. Unique plasma accelerators 2MK200, KSPU-B, KSPU-Be are used to study the materials of the first wall and divertor of the international experimental thermonuclear reactor - ITER.

Research in laser physics, the development of promising types of lasers and the improvement of the characteristics of laser systems are one of the traditional areas of scientific activity for JSC "SRC RF TRINITI".

Laser installations with various active media (CO2 lasers, CO lasers, solid-state lasers, excimer lasers) developed in our institute are noted for the variety of operating modes (continuous, pulsed, repetitively pulsed) and parameters. They can be used in a wide range of industries - controlled thermonuclear fusion, plasma diagnostics, processing of various materials, laser chemistry and laser isotope separation, environmental protection, etc.

Nowadays, we put emphasis to the mobile laser technological complexes developed in TRINITI. These complexes allow remote exposure to a laser beam with a power of up to 50 kW on various objects: in particular, to cut metal and reinforced concrete structures during dismantling and emergency recovery work at gas and oil wells and nuclear power plants, as well as when scrapping ships and submarines (including atomic ones). The use of mobile devices for burning a film of spilled oil, decontamination of surfaces by peeling and other purposes is proved to be effective.

The MHD devices created by our scientists have demonstrated the possibilities of their use for sounding the earth's crust, searching for minerals and predicting earthquakes.

In 2011, the mobile laser technological complex MLTK-20, created at SRC RF TRINITI by the order of Gazprom Gazobezopasnost, was the first device in the world to eliminate the accident at gas well No. 506 of the West Tarko-Salinskoye field in record time.

In JSC "SRC RF TRINITI" a team of highly qualified workers has been formed. Many employees are laureates of the Lenin Prize, State Prizes of the USSR and the Russian Federation, prizes of the Council of Ministers of the USSR and the Government of the Russian Federation and other prizes. Many our colleagues are awarded with orders and medals.

Our institute is located in the Troitsk city district, Moscow.

Об институте


Акционерное общество "Государственный научный центр Российской Федерации Троицкий институт инновационных и термоядерных исследований" (АО "ГНЦ РФ ТРИНИТИ") является предприятием Государственной корпорации по атомной энергии «Росатом». Основные виды деятельности Института: научная деятельность в области физики плазмы, управляемого термоядерного синтеза, лазерной физики и техники, физики экстремального состояния вещества, физики процессов преобразовании энергии, проведение НИОКР, связанных с выполнением Гособоронзаказа, развитие физических моделей и расчётных кодов для прогнозирования поведения топлива и элементов активных зон ядерных реакторов.

Институт начал свое развитие в 1956 году с организации Магнитной лаборатории АН СССР по инициативе академика А.П. Александрова. В 1961 году лаборатория была включена в состав Института атомной энергии им. И.В. Курчатова в качестве сектора, затем отдела, а с 1971 года - филиала, директором которого до 1978 года был академик Е.П. Велихов. С 1978 года по декабрь 2003 года руководил институтом член-корреспондент РАН В.Д. Письменный. C мая 2004 года институт возглавлял доктор физико-математических наук, профессор В.Е. Черковец. В 2018 году генеральным директором АО "ГНЦ РФ ТРИНИТИ" стал доктор технических наук Д.В. Марков.

В 1991 году Филиал Института атомной энергии им. И.В. Курчатова был переименован в Троицкий институт инновационных и термоядерных исследований. (ТРИНИТИ)

В 1994 году институт получил статус Государственного научного центра и сохраняет его по сей день.

Результаты проводимых АО "ГНЦ РФ ТРИНИТИ" исследований обладают высокой степенью новизны, крайне актуальны и имеют обширную сферу применения. Во-первых, они имеют фундаментальное значение для физики плазмы, твердого тела и полупроводников, изучения свойств веществ при воздействии на них высоких плотностей энергии, физики лазерных систем и газового разряда, исследования процессов преобразования энергии и др.

Во-вторых, они находят свое применение при разработке термоядерных реакторов, приборов и устройств для диагностики высокотемпературной плазмы и твердых тел, источников рентгеновского излучения, различного типа лазеров, плазменных ускорителей, новых технологических процессов с использованием плазменных потоков и лазерного излучения, материалов с улучшенными свойствами, автономных источников энергопитания, разведке и созданию систем мониторинга полезных ископаемых и др.

Видное место в научной тематике занимают исследования в области управляемого термоядерного синтеза (УТС), открывающие путь к осуществлению реакции синтеза легких элементов (дейтерия, трития) в режиме с контролируемым выделением мощности, проводимые на уникальной экспериментально - стендовой базе, включающей в себя установку "Ангара-5-1" (крупнейшую в Европе и в Азии установку для решения научных и прикладных задач по программам использования техники генерации импульсов сверхвысоких электрических мощностей), термоядерный комплекс "ТСП" (Токамак с сильным полем).

При проведении экспериментов по программе УТС разработан и создан спектрометр быстрых нейтронов на основе алмазного детектора, с помощью которого впервые в мире были проведены замеры спектра энергетического распределения и анизотропия спектров нейтронного излучения высокотемпературной дейтерий-тритиевой плазмы токамака и разработаны радиационно- стойкие средства измерения потоков и доз ионизирующих излучений.

Исследования динамики импульсной высокотемпературной плазмы, проводимые по программе УТС, позволили также разработать новые методы упрочнения материалов (уменьшение микрошероховатости поверхностного слоя, снижение коэффициента трения, повышение устойчивости к коррозии в агрессивных средах и др.) и создать для этого ряд соответствующих устройств. Преимущества метода плазменной обработки продемонстрированы на многих промышленных деталях. Уникальные плазменные ускорители 2МК200, КСПУ-B, КСПУ-Bе используются для исследования материалов первой стенки и дивертора международного экспериментального термоядерного реактора - ИТЭР.

Одним из традиционных для АО "ГНЦ РФ ТРИНИТИ" направлений научной деятельности являются исследования по лазерной физике, разработка перспективных типов лазеров и совершенствование характеристик лазерных систем.

Созданные лазерные установки с различными активными средами (СО2-лазеры, СО-лазеры, твердотельные лазеры, эксимерные лазеры) отличаются разнообразием режимов работы (непрерывные, импульсные, импульсно-периодические), и параметрами. Они могут применяться в самых различных отраслях - управляемый термоядерный синтез, диагностика плазмы, обработка различных материалов, лазерная химия и лазерное разделение изотопов, охрана окружающей среды и др.

В настоящее время большое внимание уделяется разработанным в институте передвижным лазерным технологическим комплексам. Эти установки позволяют осуществлять дистанционное воздействие лучом лазера мощностью до 50 кВт на различные объекты: в частности, резать металлические и железобетонные конструкции при демонтаже и аварийно-восстановительных работах на газовых и нефтяных скважинах и АЭС, а также при разделке на металлолом судов и подводных лодок (в том числе атомных). Эффективно применение мобильных установок для сжигания пленки разлившейся нефти, дезактивации поверхностей методом шелушения и других целей.

Созданные учеными института МГД-установки, продемонстрировали возможности их использования для зондирования земной коры, поиска полезных ископаемых и прогнозирования землетрясений.

В 2011 году, созданный в АО "ГНЦ РФ ТРИНИТИ" по заказу ООО "Газпром газобезопасность" мобильный лазерный технологический комплекс МЛТК-20, впервые в мире позволил в рекордные сроки ликвидировать аварию на газовой скважине № 506 Западно-Тарко-Cалинского месторождения.

В АО "ГНЦ РФ ТРИНИТИ" сформировался коллектив высококвалифицированных работников. Многие сотрудники являются лауреатами Ленинской премии, Государственных премий СССР и Российской Федерации, премий СМ СССР и Правительства Российской Федерации и других премий, награждены орденами и медалями.

Расположен институт в городском округе Троицк, города Москвы.