Русская версия

VELIKHOV Yevgeny Pavlovich
President of the Russian Research Center "Kurchatov Institute",
Director of the Branch of the Kurchatov Institute of Atomic Energy
(now referred to as the SRC RF TRINITI) from 1971 to 1978,
Member of the Russian Academy of Sciences, Professor,
Hero of the Socialist Labor,
Winner of the Lenin and USSR State Prizes.

E.P.Velikhov was born in 1935.
Graduated from the Physical Department of M.V. Lomonosov Moscow State University in 1958. Since 1961 he has worked at the I.V.Kurchatov Institute of Atomic Energy (IAE) as a junior researcher, then Head of Laboratory and Head of Department.
In 1971 he was appointed Deputy Director responsible for research works at the I.V.Kurchatov Institute and Director of the Branch of the Kurchatov Institute of Atomic Energy. He held this position up to 1978.
Since 1992 he has been working as President of the Russian Research Center "Kurchatov Institute".
In 1964 he defended the thesis and received Doctor of Science degree in physics and mathematics.
In 1968 he obtained a rank of Professor.
E.P.Velikhov is awarded the USSR State Prize (1977), the Lenin Prize (1984) and the RF State Prize (2003).
The range of E.P.Velikhov's scientific interests covers such areas as:
plasma physics, controlled thermonuclear fusion, high-power pulsed MHD-generators, power engineering, and gas and technological lasers.
He is the author of over 1500 scientific publications and a number of inventions and discoveries.
He is the wide-known to the world scientific and engineering community for his diverse activity for which he was honored with such titles and ranks as:
Honorary Member of the Swedish Royal Academy of Engineering Sciences and the A.F.Ioffe PhTI,
Honorary Doctor of Notre Dame University (USA) and London University (UK),
Doctor of Taft University,
Honorary Citizen of Rino (USA),
Honorary Citizen of Plovdid (Bulgaria),
Winner of the Science and Peace Prize,
Winner of the World Scientist Federation Prize,
Winner of the Szillard's Prize,
Winner of the American Physical Society Prize,
Chairman of the Board of the International Thermonuclear Experimental Reactor (ITER) Program (Russia, USA, EU and Japan).
From 1977 to 1996 - Vice-President of the USSR (Russia) Academy of Sciences.
Since 1983 - Academician-Secretary of the informatics, computer engineering and automatics division of the USSR (Russia) Academy of Sciences.